Wondrous Words Wednesday

by

wordyweds

Wondrous Words Wednesday is hosted by Kathy of BermudaOnion

I found the following word in Heart’s Blood by Juliet Marillier

Embrasure (Page 41): In the window embrasure beside the the table where the chieftain had been working stood a little old chest.

n.

  1. An opening in a thick wall for a door or window, especially one with sides angled so that the opening is larger on the inside of the wall than on the outside.
  2. A flared opening for a gun in a wall or parapet.

[French, from embraser, to widen an opening.]

embrasured em·brasured adj.

9 Responses to “Wondrous Words Wednesday”

  1. Lisa notes... Says:

    I've never heard of embasure. Glad to learn something new today.

  2. C.B. James Says:

    Sounds like an excellent cite for an act of defenestration.

  3. rhapsodyinbooks Says:

    It's interesting that so many words relating to windows come from the French. I wonder if they were "known" for windows or something!

  4. Tea Says:

    I've never heard of embrasure either. I'm having a hard time picturing one. Is it like a wide window sill???http://readwithtea.blogspot.com/2009/12/wondrous-words-it-happened-one-night-by.html

  5. Margot at Joyfully Retired Says:

    Very interesting word this week. It's new to me.

  6. fredamans Says:

    Good word!!I have none this week.

  7. The Westie Loving Therapist Says:

    I have never heard of this word either and your definition gave me a great word picture. Thanks!

  8. bermudaonion Says:

    What a great word – it's new to me! Thanks for participating!

  9. onethebook Says:

    Now as the night sky crept in, expectations of its creatures and their torment to silence, were that a tranquil slumber would not be harbored till the next day’s dawn. But pleasantly surprised instead, they made a melodic rhythm with their sounds that actually evoked sleep.

    Woken refreshed the next morning by the transformation of light; a memory of such a good night sleep could not be had. But upon waking, the realization that this was happening manifested. And the ever present dilemma that he may never make it back home quickly set in, but with a smile of infinite satisfaction he sat, knowing that he never wanted to go back.

    Here I am, he thought, outside my element and clueless to everything around me. But already I am happier than I can remember being in years. All my life things were handed to me and I never had to work for anything. Sure I was educated and groomed for success which financially I had. But never was I as happy as now, when I have nothing.

    want to read more or get an ebook for2$ go to my web site http://www.onethebook.weebly.com by the way this is only one of three stroies that are in the book and can be previewed.

Leave a comment